Way ay behind the wheel like

I’d forgotten that AC/DC’s Brian Johnson was a geordie.

Evidence here.

The fact that he used to sing in a band called Geordie was probably a clue. I love the fact that he still sounds the same after years of living in the US.

My mother’s family came from Newcastle. She was born in New Malden but was evacuated during the war with her sister to stay with family there. Did her mother go with her? I’m not sure. When someone’s gone you realise how much you’d like to ask them.

She told me a few years ago that she had had elocution lessons at around the age of nine to help her speak ‘proper’ English! In 1950s London I suppose a Newcastle accent wasn’t really something you wanted your children to keep.

As I’ve mentioned here before, I’ve been teased throughout my life for ‘speaking posh’, but there’s nothing better than speaking what is actually standard English for most of the non-English speaking world, when it comes to people understanding you, from Yemeni IT consultants to Nigerian drivers. It has proven problematic in the US though – people always assume I am Australian, which makes no sense to me at all.

Leave a Reply

