Modern men of Dubtown

The Gulf News has some wonderfully quaint articles sometimes.

This is a classic.

I do my best to help out at home. Mrs Saul does most of the cooking as she is simply better at it than me. Computers and cars are my domain.

Recently I shocked the Philipino lady who sells sandwiches near our office by informing her that I have to do my own laundry and that my wife doesn’t do it for me. (I didn’t simply announce it randomly – it was part of a general conversation we were having whilst my chicken toastie was being toastied). This state of affairs was deemed to be quite shocking, as the wife should do these things for the husband even if she is too much busy, apparently. I was quite surprised at her reaction. I thought she’d say something along the lines of ‘lucky Mrs Saul’, but she seemed genuinely concerned for my plight.

Leave a Reply

