Qatar’s new prohibited page

Paraglider mentions the new, friendlier, ‘page blocked’ page.

Du, my provider in the UAE, has a similar approach, with a character from the local cartoon ‘Freej’.

I may be putting myself at risk of sounding pro-censorship, which I’m not, but the level of web censorship here doesn’t really bother me any more.

I do find it very annoying that Flickr is blocked in the UAE – this seems to make no sense, particularly when it’s unblocked in Saudi.

Apart from that, it’s rare I find a site I want to visit that’s blocked and I can understand why various sex sites are blocked for internet users here. I’m not a parent, but if I were, I would be quite happy to know that that sort of thing is hard to access.

2 Responses to “Qatar’s new prohibited page”

  1. Paraglider Says:

    Greetings from Doha – thanks for the mention šŸ™‚ I don’t have strong feelings either way about ‘adult’ censorship, except that the mere fact that censorship is in place makes you wonder what else is being censored, such as political or progressive opinion. It’s a minefield when you start asking.

Leave a Reply

