Thank goodness for warranty…

Thanks goodness I bought a third party warranty for Mrs Saul’s Range Rover in January.

It cost 6,000Dhs – so far I’ve claimed around 2,500Dhs on it for ignition coils. Now the alternator has died – this will cost 6,500Dhs, 5,000Dhs of which I can get back from Gulf Warranties…

I’m trying to remember the last time I heard of anyone’s car having a failed alternator? Well done, Land Rover – I don’t think needing to replace an alternator on a five year old car at 103,000Kms is really the sort of thing that suggests you are creating a quality product.

Thank goodness the dreaded battery warning light went on while we were in Dubai, as opposed to being halfway through a trip to the middle of nowhere!

3 Responses to “Thank goodness for warranty…”

  1. David Says:

    Chris, its happened to me twice: first on my Ford Mondeo (2005), and later on my Benz C200K (2007).. thankfully both times I was covered under manufacturer warranty!

  2. SJS Says:

    …….and to us in 1985 when the alternator on the Turbo packed up after only 2 weeks from brand new while the garage was doing the 1,000 mile post sale check-up, and a couple of days before we set off for the Alps. Remember? .

  3. SJS Says:

    …….and to us in 1985 when the alternator on the Turbo packed up after only 2 weeks from brand new while the garage was doing the 1,000 mile post sale check-up, and a couple of days before we set off for the Alps. Remember? .

Leave a Reply

