The most pointless letter I have ever had to write

Mrs Saul needs a tourist visa to visit India during the upcoming Easter holiday.

I will be with her, but I already have a visa that’s still valid.

In order for Mrs Saul to get her visa she needs three passport photos, her passport and a photocopy of her passport with her UAE residence visa. She also needs…

…a letter of no objection from her sponsor.

Sun Microsystems sponsor me for my UAE residence visa. As Mrs Saul’s husband, I sponsor her. For this reason I had to write her no objection letter:

To Whom It May Concern

I, Christopher Saul, sponsor of Mrs Saul and holder of British passport no. 12341234, hereby state that I have no objection to my wife being issued with a tourist visa for India so that she can come on holiday with me in April.

I find it utterly bizarre that a sponsor’s ‘no objection’ is needed for a tourist visa in the first place, but there you go. I had to get the same thing from Sun Dubai when applying for my visa to visit… Sun India. That letter stated that Sun had no objection to a Sun employee visiting a Sun office to work on a project for Sun.

Isn’t bureaucracy great?

3 Responses to “The most pointless letter I have ever had to write”

  1. riz din Says:

    Just out of interest, I wonder if they actually get any letters of objection.

  2. Dave Says:

    As the head of a company within the UAE, I had to write an NOC on company letterhead approving the issuing of a drivers license to myself, ie "I, Dave X, have no objection to Dave X being issued a drivers license…"

  3. Dave Says:

    As the head of a company within the UAE, I had to write an NOC on company letterhead approving the issuing of a drivers license to myself, ie "I, Dave X, have no objection to Dave X being issued a drivers license…"

Leave a Reply

