New Year cancelled in Dubai

Sheikh Mohammed has cancelled New Year’s celebrations here to show solidarity with the people of Gaza.

This is an interesting one. Abu Dhabi still seems to be going ahead with Shakira’s warbling. I’m expecting venues to remain open but simply play music quietly. The refund issues will doubtless run for months in the local press.

We’ll be going to a friend’s house for a quiet meal.

3 Responses to “New Year cancelled in Dubai”

  1. Sandy Says:

    I’m with the Sheikh on this one. It’s about time some of the dimwit Western toerags living in this region were made aware of the wide issues involved in living here.

  2. Chris Says:

    I would imagine that most of the dimwit Western toerags living here would be reasonably aware of what’s going on.
    I doubt making them aware of the ‘wide issues involved in living here’ was the reason behind cancelling New Year’s Even celebrations.

  3. Barry Says:

    I am not the least bit surprised that the concert is going ahead in Abu Dhabi. The gents of the Middle East never seem to be able to agree on anything. Thank goodness for that or us toerags would be in real trouble. When I hear news like this, I am glad I milked what money I could out of the place and left. Happy Toerag

Leave a Reply

