How to annoy your customers

I have a Citibank Visa card which I use for all my work related travel expenses, which means a fair amount goes through it every month.

As it’s not possible to do direct debits from my main current account with HSBC, every month I have to transfer money from my HSCB current account to my Citibank current account, so that Citibank Visa can then debit my Citibank current account to pay off my bill. It’s a pain having to do this manually every month, but there you go.

I’m probably a bad customer, as I always pay my credit card off in full, every month.

Recently I noticed that Citibank were charging me 10Dhs a month ‘relationship charges’ on my current account. I called to ask them what this ‘relationship charge’ is – apparently it’s a charge made every month as I don’t maintain a current account balance of 35,000Dhs or more (about $10,000)! It seems a little unreasonable to charge for a current account in 2008, especially when the bank is making a lot out of my credit card transactions. If I didn’t have a credit card, they’d be charging me 100Dhs a month!

These seems odd to me. Interest on current accounts is minimal anyway and maintaining $10,000 in a current account seems pretty pointless.

I doubt that Citibank apply these fees in European countries, or am I wrong?

2 Responses to “How to annoy your customers”

  1. David Simmons Says:

    Well, they have to pay for that huge logo on the new New York Mets Stadium somehow. Stealing money from the American Taxpayers, apparently, doesn’t cover all of it, so they’ll steal a little from you every month. šŸ™‚

  2. Marco Says:

    I know some german banks which charge an anual fee for giving you a creditcard in addition to the monthly fees of your current account šŸ˜‰
    You do get discounts if your monthly income gets transferred to this account but in your case when having a second current account just to get the credit card, you have to pay a lot of fees šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

