Doing what you love

I bumped into a someone I hadn’t seen for a while the other day. He used to work as a sales engineer at one of Sun’s partners, based in Abu Dhabi. Always a football fanatic, with an encyclopedic knowledge of the game, he always seemed a bit wasted configuring Sun servers and responding to tenders.
He’s now a commentator for one of the Arabic sports channels, changing jobs a couple of years ago. A rare example of someone actually being able to change their career and make a living out of what they really enjoy.
I’m pretty lucky – I like my job and the industry I work in. If I didn’t, what would I do? Something to do with travelling the world, driving offroad or talking about people driving offroad sounds fun. Making a living out of it though? That would be tough. I will stick with the IT industry.

Leave a Reply

