Dubai no 1 for expats…

Seabee has some interesting comments on a recent survey about expat hotspots.
I love living in Dubai and so does Mrs Saul. Being here has given us both excellent job opportunities. We had good friends at home, but we actually get to see the good friends we’ve made here as we all live close to eachother and going camping, offroad driving, etc, is easy to.
When I arrived I expected to work hard, learn a lot, move upwards more quickly in my career and be able to save some money. I was amazed to discover, on arriving, that I could afford to have my clothes laundered, supermarket shopping delivered to my door, have my car cleaned, etc, etc. I remember my astonishment when I first encountered the tea boy at my last company. I didn’t have to make my own tea!? Incredible. (Sun don’t have a tea boy, I hasten to add). None of this was expected.
As things get more expensive, the core reasons for being here will (hopefully) remain. We’ll simply stop doing the things we couldn’t afford to do back home anyway – partly because we won’t be able to afford them, partly because whilst we may have the money, they’re simply not value for money any more. We’ll miss that side of life, obviously, but whilst life returns to what I would consider to be ‘normal’ by UK standards, I’m banking on the fact that the other good points will remain and we will too.

Leave a Reply

Dubai no 1 for expats…

Seabee has some interesting comments on a recent survey about expat hotspots.
I love living in Dubai and so does Mrs Saul. Being here has given us both excellent job opportunities. We had good friends at home, but we actually get to see the good friends we’ve made here as we all live close to eachother and going camping, offroad driving, etc, is easy to.
When I arrived I expected to work hard, learn a lot, move upwards more quickly in my career and be able to save some money. I was amazed to discover, on arriving, that I could afford to have my clothes laundered, supermarket shopping delivered to my door, have my car cleaned, etc, etc. I remember my astonishment when I first encountered the tea boy at my last company. I didn’t have to make my own tea!? Incredible. (Sun don’t have a tea boy, I hasten to add). None of this was expected.
As things get more expensive, the core reasons for being here will (hopefully) remain. We’ll simply stop doing the things we couldn’t afford to do back home anyway – partly because we won’t be able to afford them, partly because whilst we may have the money, they’re simply not value for money any more. We’ll miss that side of life, obviously, but whilst life returns to what I would consider to be ‘normal’ by UK standards, I’m banking on the fact that the other good points will remain and we will too.

Leave a Reply

