The mysterious omelette management process

Why do some hotels offer omelettes 24×7 when others restrict them to ‘breakfast’?
After travelling for most of the day and evening, I usually fancy something light – an omelette usually fits the bill. Some hotels will serve them, some won’t, with those that don’t never quite explaining why.
This evening I was lucky – the room service chap who brought me my omelette at 2330 told me that whilst he was happy to make it, I shouldn’t always expect one after midday, as it was a management decision not to serve them. I asked what the reasoning behind this management decision was and he told me he didn’t know and that he didn’t want to risk his job by asking why. I think something may have been a bit lost in translation, as asking why you can’t serve omelettes after midday shouldn’t really be a sacking offence – unless there is some secret EU omelette conspiracy going on. Have I inadvertently stumbled on a dark hospitality industry secret that has been kept hidden for years?
In the States I was once told I couldn’t have an omelette as the ingredients had been – wait for it – ‘moved to another fridge’. I asked for them to be moved back to the original fridge and duly got my omelette twenty minutes later.
In Slovakia the phone was slammed down on me when I called room service and asked for an omelette. My request for two eggs beaten with a dash of milk and fried in a pan nearly made it past security, only to be found out for what it was at the last minute – a pathetic omelette subterfuge.
In the Middle East you can have an omelette whenever you want one…
Why is it not allowed in some places and allowed in others? I don’t understand why you can usually order a steak and chips at three in the morning, but not an omelette.
I demand answers.

3 Responses to “The mysterious omelette management process”

  1. John Says:

    How much does an omelette cost when compared to the other options on the menu?
    My guess is that they would like to force you to order the more expensive lunch/dinner items on the menu rather than the traditionally cheaper ‘breakfast’ items.
    Then again, when somebody else is paying the bill, I often go for whatever is in season and local 🙂

  2. Troy Says:

    Having once worked for a hotel, we stopped making breakfast at a certain time because we had a dedicated breakfast chef. Maybe the hotel has not upskilled their workers on the fine art of oeuf cuisine? I know my old bosses would almost lose their sh*t if we even reached for the bacon skillet after 11am…

  3. Kigali Says:

    I’ve experienced the same problem many times – I too think its a money-making decision sadly. I also struggled when (as a veggie) I just fancied some vegetables. ‘Can I just have a plate of any vegetables you’ve got please?’…’We don’t have any vegetables’. ‘So what are you serving other people alongside their steaks, fish filets etc…?’, ‘well…er…but they’re SIDE vegetables’, ‘yes, well I’ve have a whole plate of side vegetables please’…’er, I’m afraid that’s not possible’. Give up.

Leave a Reply

The mysterious omelette management process

Why do some hotels offer omelettes 24×7 when others restrict them to ‘breakfast’?
After travelling for most of the day and evening, I usually fancy something light – an omelette usually fits the bill. Some hotels will serve them, some won’t, with those that don’t never quite explaining why.
This evening I was lucky – the room service chap who brought me my omelette at 2330 told me that whilst he was happy to make it, I shouldn’t always expect one after midday, as it was a management decision not to serve them. I asked what the reasoning behind this management decision was and he told me he didn’t know and that he didn’t want to risk his job by asking why. I think something may have been a bit lost in translation, as asking why you can’t serve omelettes after midday shouldn’t really be a sacking offence – unless there is some secret EU omelette conspiracy going on. Have I inadvertently stumbled on a dark hospitality industry secret that has been kept hidden for years?
In the States I was once told I couldn’t have an omelette as the ingredients had been – wait for it – ‘moved to another fridge’. I asked for them to be moved back to the original fridge and duly got my omelette twenty minutes later.
In Slovakia the phone was slammed down on me when I called room service and asked for an omelette. My request for two eggs beaten with a dash of milk and fried in a pan nearly made it past security, only to be found out for what it was at the last minute – a pathetic omelette subterfuge.
In the Middle East you can have an omelette whenever you want one…
Why is it not allowed in some places and allowed in others? I don’t understand why you can usually order a steak and chips at three in the morning, but not an omelette.
I demand answers.

Leave a Reply

