Travelympics failure

I fell at the first hurdle today. Mike’s travelympics committee would have struck me from the team.
No upgrade to Vienna and someone digging his knees into the back of my chair, prodding the touchscreen constantly and turning my seat into a mini catapult every time he got up, grabbing onto the headrest in an apparent attempt to ping me forward into business class. I stayed remarkably calm for a change.
The flight onto Zagreb was cancelled, but I did get onto the next flight out three hours later, meaning a total of seven hours waiting in the lounge – at least I got an upgrade on this section, making the wait more bearable and the short one hour hop a bit more comfy.
Not a complete disaster, but a long day. After tomorrow’s meeting in Zagreb I fly to Bucharest in the evening and then on to Athens on Tuesday evening, returning back to Dubai on Thursday. On Sunday I’m off to Algiers, Tunis on the Weds and back home again on Thursday. Sunday off to Doha, back on Monday, then Kuwait the following Monday, back on the Tuesday.
My two weeks’ working from home are being paid for in full…
It should be a good couple of weeks though – lots of customer and partner meetings in areas with huge potential, plus the chance to dust off my French and murder the language of Moliere, Racine, Corneille and Camuus as I grind through my accented explanations of Sun’s desktop solutions, something I always enjoy.

2 Responses to “Travelympics failure”

  1. Mike Belch Says:

    Don’t let it happen again or you may be downgraded to Silver Travelympian status and lose your Gold privileges.

  2. Mike Belch Says:

    Don’t let it happen again or you may be downgraded to Silver Travelympian status and lose your Gold privileges.

Leave a Reply

