Linguistic conundrums

My work involves lots of so-called ‘Proofs of Concept’. Note that it’s *Proofs* of Concept, not Proof of *Concepts*. Using the latter description always annoys me. Non-native English speakers are forgiven, native speakers aren’t.
So how do we abbreviate the plural version? Should it be PoCs, or Ps-oC or PsoC?
I prefer PoCs, but I find myself in a terrible conundrum – is it correct? Will it turn out that my efforts to get it right are wrong, opening me to crticism?
Someone senior in the grammar world needs to weigh in on this one and put me out of my misery.
At least, when it comes to ‘competitive bake-offs’, there is no confusion.

Leave a Reply

