Get real

I don’t understand the French Unions. Who do they expect to benefit by bringing the country to a standstill?.
Guess what guys? You can’t expect to retire at 50 on a full pension. I can understand why you don’t like that, but instead of bringing your country into complete disrepute, why not work with the elected government to reach a compromise?

5 Responses to “Get real”

  1. weeble Says:

    It’s not unique to France. 😦 We are into transit strikes here in Germany again… starting tomorrow at 02:00 and going until Saturday… at least. They want a 31% raise and the company isn’t giving it. Neither side will budge. There have been strikes off and on since summer.

  2. Ludo Says:

    While I agree with you that it’s hard to find the benefit of halting a whole country, your last question shows a lack of understanding of the situation. The elected government is not looking for a compromise and in fact has not offered any possibility of negociation. It is betting that since the special retirement plans are only for a minority, the strike will make this minority even more unpopular and the unions will be forced to accept the changes under the pressure of a wider part of the French population.
    I do not agree with a strike that takes the whole country in hostage, but I do not approve a government that is not opening the door to negociation either.

  3. Chris Says:

    Interesting times ahead. Whilst I enjoy spending time in France and Germany (Germany in particular) and speak both languages to a degree of fluency, it does seem like your ‘Mrs Thatcher’ moments are overdue. I just can’t see how the unions expect to keep the kind of benefits they’re used to.

  4. Caroline Bell Says:

    Hello Chris
    I really enjoy reading your blog and am particularly interested in how life is in your new flat. I stayed in Al Manzil in June and had a lovely time and really liked the old town development. I am planning to come to work in Dubai next January and am considering buying in the old town. I am interested in a 2bed property preferably downstairs as I have a cat. I was wondering if you would mind me emailing you regarding any advice you could give please. I was wondering what my chances are buying privately. I am thinking of renting out the second room to another female, but am worried about only one parking space per flat. I am sure you have loads of experience on this issue and so I hope you don’t mind me getting in touch with to ask your advice.
    Best Wishes
    Caroline (UK)

  5. Chris Says:

    Hi Caroline
    Drop me an email so I can get in touch with you – christopher.saul@sun.com

Leave a Reply

Get real

I don’t understand the French Unions. Who do they expect to benefit by bringing the country to a standstill?.
Guess what guys? You can’t expect to retire at 50 on a full pension. I can understand why you don’t like that, but instead of bringing your country into complete disrepute, why not work with the elected government to reach a compromise?

Leave a Reply

