Summer scams

This happened to me too the other day.

I gave them directions, they started their spiel about having just come from a trade conference…  I asked them if they were trying to sell me something, they laughed, shrugged their shoulders, I gave them a knowing look and they sped off to look for their next victim.  They were Italian, or claimed to be – possibly the same guys that Seabee saw.  I wonder how successful they are?

The Gulf News has an unintentionally hilarious article on the various scams that take place here.  I love the last one – naturally wives, being delicate and impressionable ladies, would obviously be very nervous at the predictions of a psychic fakir you might meet in a car park.  A raised eyebrow from Mrs Saul would be all that would be needed and the psychic fakir would predict his own imminent demise and scarper.

 

 

One Response to “Summer scams”

  1. Nuppster Says:

    The Italian guy at the petrol station…even helped me jump start my car once. Too bad I didn’t buy a suit from him…for which I could buy him a Nokia phone for his poor wife waiting for him in Italy.

    Also too bad, he approached me twice, yes siiir, twice in a different petrol station over the last 2 years. The second time around, I told him that we had met before …. and off he was with screeching tyres.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

