Wii Fit has arrived

I bought a Wii Fit at the weekend, played with it a little bit on Saturday and had a 45 minute session today.
So, what are my impressions?
First off, let’s get the obvious question out of the way.
Yes, I could just run on the spot in my living room, do some press ups, some yoga things and pretend to hula hoop for forty five minutes without buying a Wii, Wii Fit and a TV. That, however, is missing the point – it needs to be fun and it needs to be easy. If I had a large villa and lots of money, I’d fill a spare room with gym kit. If I were happy to be ripped off by the gym round the corner that was supposed to be free for residents and which now costs over $1,000 per resident per year, I’d go there.
I don’t want to, or can’t do those things though, so the Wii Fit is a great alternative. Anything that tricks me into enjoying myself doing exercise and makes it easy to boot is ideal for me.
My only criticisms at this early stage is that introductions to the different exercises, along with various announcements and warnings, take up too much time. Sure, the first time I do the ‘half moon’* I need some tuition. The next time I do it I want to jump right in without wasting time. I am, after all, a busy Virtual Desktop Solutions Sales Manager, SEE Region.
I’ve switched my trainer from the slightly camp, androgynous male to the wholesome female. I know it’s only a computer game, but the computer bloke came across as slightly sinister. I also felt a bit strange jogging around a virtual park, following a man with a moustache who kept waving at me suggestively, apparently gesturing towards the shelter of some nearby virtual bushes. Fortunately the next run involved a slightly less dodgy looking character.
According to the Wii, I have great balance, great posture, but am overweight and 44 years old. Let’s see if I can stick with it, mixed in with my normal swimming and attempts to exercise when travelling. Hopefully I’ll lower my age to at least 40** in a few weeks.
* A Yoga position, as opposed to the act of pulling down your trousers and exposing only half your bottom.
* I am 33. And just big boned.

6 Responses to “Wii Fit has arrived”

  1. Magnus Says:

    Thanks for sharing that, Chris. We’ve been thinking about getting the Wii Fit too, even though we have gym membership and go regularly, it would some days be nice to have it as an alternative.

  2. Fourth Breakfast Says:

    I tried the Wii Fit out at a conference I was at. So fun! Love the snowboarding. I’m terrible at the tilt table stuff. Now if I could only get my hands on one….

  3. Fourth Breakfast Says:

    I tried the Wii Fit out at a conference I was at. So fun! Love the snowboarding. I’m terrible at the tilt table stuff. Now if I could only get my hands on one….

  4. Chris Says:

    There are lots of NTSC versions on sale shere, Fourth Breakfast. I’ll grab one for you if I make it over to Palo Alto in the near future! :)

  5. Dave Says:

    Chris, I’m guessing you have the NTSC version of the Wii? We’ve just bought the PAL version. Have you found any particularly good stores in Dubai that sell a good range of games across both (or just PAL ;-) )? Sharaf DG is about the best I’ve seen – fortunately lots of PAL stock at present, but last weekend there didn’t seem to be much NTSC. The weekend before had similar amounts of stock for both.
    I’ve also discovered that the PAL Wii Fit doesn’t seem to be available here.

  6. Chris Says:

    Hi Dave, yes I have the NTSC version. PAL seems to be the most popular format for games here, but I’ve only seen the NTSC version of Wii Fit. Geekay have a good selection of NTSC games – that said, a good choice of games isn’t too important to me as I don’t really have time to play them. Mrs Saul would frown on spending Friday afternoons in front of the TV!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

